Participatory Journalism

In today’s society, as soon as some people wake up they check their cellphones or laptops, myself included. I get my news from Twitter, Facebook, and the Huffington Post whenever I check my e-mail. The way that Twitter sets up their “tweet deck” is so that on the left side of the page, there are “trending topics”, and whatever pops up I click on, and usually there will be a news article at the top of the search results, which I will then read. I don’t have a television in my room at school, mainly because I don’t have time to watch shows, and when I wake up in the morning I don’t have time or the desire to watch the news. People of generation Y typically get their information online, considering we are the first-generation of the internet. Most of us don’t go out to the store to intentionally buy the newspaper, especially if we could get the information online. Another reason it’s beneficial to get news from online is because it’s constantly being updated, whereas news that occurs after the paper for the day won’t be published until the next day. Therefore, as naive as it sounds, it has become easier to find out current events through Twitter because of the accessibility to us and we can post random things in order to connect to others, or in response to a certain trend. However, does this mean that newspapers will become nonexistent years from now? In my opinion, it seems highly likely. Maybe not anytime soon, but decades or even centuries from now, people may not even know what a newspaper was.

Leave a Reply

