Fake Reviews on Yelp?!?

I decided to listen to “Fake Online Reviews By Real Fans” and I am completely shocked! I use Yelp all the time, especially for occasions. I have been fortunate enough to be happy with every place I found through Yelp. I think that this is something that interferes with the idea of commons knowledge – or just knowledge that should be available for all people. It seems as thought people are being cheated when something like this happens. A $350,000 fine is definitely not worth getting a few more customers. “Out of a 1,000 customers, 15 write a review, and 1 person will be writing a fake review.” 

On the other hand, I think that this is a consequence of relying on public information. It is always hard to differentiate between something that is completely reliable from something that seems a little shady – especially on the internet. It is clear that these establishments have taken advantage of this. 

Leave a Reply

