Breaking Bad and the Show Hangover

I’ve never watched Breaking Bad. In fact, I wasn’t exactly sure of what it was about until Eduardo explained it in class; all I knew was that it involved a chemistry teacher and meth. Despite the fact that I haven’t seen a single episode of it, though, I can somewhat relate to what PJ Vogt from On The Media says about Breaking Bad: “I’m realizing what I’ll miss most about the show isn’t the show itself, but the way it reigned in and focused our cultural attention.”

What I hate the most though about liking a show, or even about reading a book, is the emptiness I feel when it’s over. Especially with shows/books as good as Game of Thrones or Breaking Bad, where the audience has the opportunity of enjoying a different plot with awesome twists and turns that are not the typical “boy likes girl and they lived happily ever after” kind of narration that all other shows have. Really good books or shows have the ability of creating such round characters that you start seeing them as real. Not the creepy “I totally think they exist” kind of real, but the one you can relate to and makes you want to know what will happen next. But when there is no next episode, then there is nothing you can do, and you realize it’s all over and you have to move on. Image

Leave a Reply

