Surf it, scroll it, pause it, click it.

I listened to On The Media this weekend and the clip about Siri intrigued me. It was basically saying that people are now creating a relationship between themselves and the responsive robot voice on iPhone’s.

In general, I feel like we’re all up to a certain point in some kind of relationship with technology, even if it’s not directly with the robot voice on your device. When was the last time you went for a week without checking you phone, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, or email? Whatever it is you use, you check it constantly and you feel weird or left out if you don’t.

Even the fact of leaving your phone behind makes you feel uncomfortable. How many times have you heard “Oh, when I have my phone nothing happens, but then I leave it and come back to 15 missed calls, 20 text messages and 30 emails!”? well maybe not that many…I don’t know, it might just be me haha. But at least personally, I do feel like I should have my phone with me at all times because what if something happens and someone needs to reach me?

This relationship with technology is unhealthy, though. Society nowadays is demanding everyone to be online at all times. If you send a message, you expect to get an answer almost immediately and you get annoyed if you don’t. Even when you’re having dinner with friends or whatnot, you tend to be on your phone because there’s new stuff on your newsfeed or new pictures on Instagram.

I’m not hating on technology or anything, in fact, I love it. But I do realize that it’s probably taking up more time from our lives than we realize and when you miss out on what’s right in front of you, that’s when it hits you that you should probably back off a little from your use of technology.

In an ironic way, I feel like Daft Punk’s “Technologic” is an exact representation of people and their technologic activity everyday.

One thought on “Surf it, scroll it, pause it, click it.

  1. I loved the ‘technologic” song as an example because it really is true. I agree that this is basically a representation of the relationship in terms of robots. I think Siri is more for entertainment than anything. I also agree with the idea of our time being consumed by technology. When I fast, I usually try to fast from the use of technology because we use it so much. I dont think my generation could function back in the day when technology wasnt fully developed and popular.

Leave a Reply

