Talk to me, Siri

Siri has become the most defining feature on the Iphone. After listening to on the media, Genevieve Bell, an anthropologist and the Director of User Experience and Research at Intel spoke about how they think humans aren’t just interacting with their devices, they’re are forming relationships with them. I think this is very true, I personally don’t have Siri on my phone, but I have used it on family and friends and I don’t think I am missing out on much, it’s not very useful. I feel that every time I have tried to use it, she doesn’t understand what I am trying to say. I can easily go onto the web and probably get the information quicker. If people are forming relationships with Siri, it’s because they are bored and have nothing better to do.

6 thoughts on “Talk to me, Siri

  1. I agree with Brittany’s comment on the Siri segment of On the Media. I feel that even though I have Siri on my phone I’d rather just click around on my phone to look up information I need to know about rather than saying it out loud for her to find it and tell me.

  2. I agree that Siri is not very useful in day to day activities. I can google much faster than Siri can process my spoken words. I however find Siri very useful when driving, although the apple headphones play a large part in that too. With the headphones I can pause, play, skip songs, and activate Siri. Siri can get to Pandora for me or make a call. But I have to admit asking Siri personal questions can be very amusing.

  3. I also agree that Siri is not very useful in day to day activities as well. Honestly I forget about that feature on my phone. I use my map for directions oppose to asking Siri. I have never really been a fan of the feature and I have only used in it in a joking manner.

  4. I agree about Siri. I have her on my phone and try to get directions from her all the time. She is pretty useless. I don’t think that my accent is so thick that she wouldn’t be able to understand me. I do have lots of fun messing with her though!

  5. I feel the same way. I don’t have Siri on my phone but if I did I most likely would not use Siri. I just feel its faster and easier to look up whatever I need to know.

  6. Siri seems cool but it’s still very limited. What scares me about Siri is how it works. Your phone interprets what you say, but then it sends it to Apple’s servers in “the cloud” where that information is processed and an answer is determined and relayed back to you. So when you tell Siri to setup an alarm, Apple technically has the information that says you’re doing that. This seems harmless right now but what about when Siri gets smarter, better, and more useful? It’s already witty in a novelty sense but what about when it starts communicating more and more like a real person? What happens when Apple can analyze your conversations to define your market potential? I don’t know if Siri will ever achieve those capabilities but it’s interesting to see how that technology could evolve.

Leave a Reply

