Matt Veziris

Professor John Proctor

COMM 3046

October 28, 2013

 

This weeks OTM segment about victims of tragedies finding closure in the media spotlight bothered me a lot. I could be biased because I’m a more introverted person who likes to deal with issues myself instead of confiding in others but I just didn’t relate to what was claimed.  I keep thinking about how people react when losing a loved one. Some claim they are doing okay when clearly they haven’t begun to deal with tragedy and while they may be keeping up a good front, they still are in pain underneath. I can’t help but feel the same way about these Media Victims.

They say going about life when losing a loved one is important because it keeps you active and helps combat against depression and anxiety. I wonder if talking with the media serves the same purpose and gives their lives meaning at least for the immediate future as well as something to do. But is there actual therapeutic value in telling your story to a camera over and over again to a person who isn’t primarily concerned for your mental well being but for the quality of the story? Talking about it outloud can help face the reality of the situation but what happens when the media attention fades, and people stop feeling sorry for you and it’s just you left to deal with the tragedy what happens then? I’d be interested to see a study on something related to this.

One thought on “

  1. I completely agree with what you’re saying. I feel like talking to the media is not really going to help someone. Maybe there is some type of therapeutic value, but I do not feel like that is very likely. Seeing some type of study related to this would definitely be interesting!

Leave a Reply

