Gin, Television and Social Surplus

While reading Gin, Television and Social Surplus, I thought a lot of about how my own consumption of television and how I have spent and still spend a lot of my free time. Back in middle school and high school I used to watch a lot of tv. Most weekends I would wake up and sit myself in front of the tv until I either went out to meet up with friends or would go to bed. My parents used to get upset about how much tv I watched and I never really understood why. When I got to college, I didn’t have a tv of my own but for the first three years my roommates/suitemates had tvs. Watching tv became less of a time killer and more of a social thing, at the end of the day the group of us would sit on the couch and watch a movie or tv show and usually talk about our day. But I never would sit around like I did when I was in high school and veg-out all day. This year I don’t have roommates or suite mates to socially bond with while watching tv. And at the end of the summer when I finally broke down and bought myself one I thought that I would go right back to my old middle/high school ways and veg out in front of the tv all day. (Which I don’t btw)

Shirky makes a good point about how and why we watch so much tv. And although I already knew this, but Shirky puts it into a great perspective that we can be doing anything/everything else with our time instead of just sitting around like lazy bums.   

Leave a Reply

