I’ve never heard of Russia Today

I’m looking at rt.com/usa for the first time ever today. I’m probably not coming back. First of all the two main categories for news stories are ‘USA’ and ‘Russian Politics.’ I suppose I’m biased after listening to this weeks On The Media, but I’m definitely seeing either anti-American stories or just stories about bad things happening in America. I’m seeing lots of NSA stuff, an article on Obama’s low approval rating, more NSA and pro-Snowden news, and people from the US going on strike. Meanwhile Russia is passing a new family code to protect traditional values. No matter how tyrannical that might actually be, it sure is worded nicely! There is certainly coverage on other things, like bitcoins and a new torrent site, but I don’t think that this place offers many unique news pieces or something you can’t get elsewhere. I don’t know why I thought that this might’ve been a good idea, but I looked at the comments and they show a very cynical side of humanity.

On The Media mentioned (jokingly?) that hotels are the only place to see RT, and I can’t remember having seen it in any hotels I’ve been to recently. I guess I support Liz Wahl and Abby Martin opining anti-Russian views on RT. For Abby Wahl, they mentioned that the producers enjoyed the dissent because it helped ratings. And if it weren’t for these anchors speaking out, I wouldn’t have known about RT. The U.S. likes to cover anti-Russian views, so CNN surely had no problem covering the Liz Wahl story. The piece probably gave RT some new supporters; haters as well, but those against the network can’t really stop the supporters from liking it. As was mentioned in the On The Media podcast, every nation has propaganda coverage, I think we should be grateful that Russia Today is more obvious in showing its angle.

2 thoughts on “I’ve never heard of Russia Today

  1. Haha yeah it’s very ironic. And on a strange side note: When you commented on this, I was sent an e-mail with your IP Address, the e-mail you used to sign up for wordpress, and a personal arin.net profile telling me your ISP, handle; I don’t even know what a CIDR is but I have that too among other things. I don’t know why I need this, why did wordpress give me this information? But they gave it to me, we don’t even need the NSA with wordpress.com helping us out. I know people often mistake the IP address for some magical code to hack your computer, but I’m pretty sure I could at least attempt to clone it. Don’t worry man I have no intention of doing anything though aha.

Leave a Reply

