Research Paper Annotated Working Bibliography

Growing up with Disney, I fell for some expectations and realized I am not the only one. My research paper will focus on the depiction and perception of beauty in Disney films and how that has affected society today.

This is a section from the book, Gender and Society, and discusses how children are influenced by fairy tales to believe in what is classified as “beautiful.”

This is a cartoon of just the hair of classic Disney princesses with the message “Disney gave me unrealistic expectation about hair.” I find this to be relatable, therefore can be used in my argument that Disney has created an ideal beauty.

  • “Do Animated Disney Characters Promote and Portray the Beauty- Goodness Stereotype?”

Bazzini, D.,Curtin, L., Joslin, S., Regan, S., & Martz, D.(2010). Do animated Disney characters portray and promote the beauty-goodness stereotype?Journal of Applied Social Psychology, 40(10): 2687-2709. (Oct 2010) Published by Wiley- Blackwell

http://libres.uncg.edu/ir/asu/f/Bazzini_Doris_2010_Do_Animated_Disney_Characters_Portray.pdf

This article argues that Disney uses beauty to represent good and ugly to represent evil, which is something that I have also noticed.

This source explains that one major aspect to the ideal beauty Disney creates is being skinny. After all, Disney does not have a “fat” princess!

This too discusses the significance that body image has on believing what is truly beautiful.

  • “Obsessed with the Dress.” Say Yes to the Dress: Big Bliss. Dir. San Heng, Jennifer Winston, Emma Broomhead. TLC. New York, 3 June 2011. Television.

I remember watching this episode a few years ago; the brides come in wanting to look and feel like a princess, which is very common among brides. This also sparks the question of what it means to really be a princess.

This is a sort of break down of the classic Disney princesses and how they came to be so popular and beloved.

  • A list of Disney movies sold and their respective total sales

http://www.the-numbers.com/movies/distributor/Buena-Vista

I thought it would be interesting to see how the popularity of the princesses, based on beauty, and the sales of their movies are related. Do the movies of “prettier” princesses have higher sales?

  • Disney’s Animation Style

http://emmasdisneyworld.tumblr.com/post/63626466029/disneys-animation-style

This is a tumblr post that examines Disney’s animation style. A question I want to raise in my paper is: is Disney trying to instill an image of ideal beauty or does it have it’s own animation style that leads us on to believe that what we are seeing is what beauty is supposed to be?

 

2 thoughts on “Research Paper Annotated Working Bibliography

  1. I really love this topic and am really intrigued to see where this paper goes. I still adore disney movies and I still see those disney princesses as beautiful. As little girls, I think that we can all agree that when watching those movies, we would see there perfect bodies and perfect hair and it grew into us demanding that upon ourselves when we got older. I feel that people often forget the body issues that we subject upon our children. Magazines and television Ads are always producing images of what they believe to be the perfect figure, but they are aimed at teenagers and adults. The idea of the perfect figure is instilled in little girls from the first Disney classic they lay their eyes on. I am really intrigued about this topic and I feel that it is very important for today’s society.

  2. Thank you! I too am still in love with Disney- I’m a child at heart! It’s funny, because when you reflect on what you once looked up to as a child, you realize how crazy it was. Whether it be body image or hair, we had something to admire and it affected our self perception. I can safely say that while I do still have “beauty ideals,” I am more confident in myself now than I was growing up and I believe that comes with age. However, there are plenty of people out there who are still stuck in this bubble of what beauty is expected to be and I look forward to cover how what they observed in their childhood affected their adulthood.

Leave a Reply

