Individuality vs selfishness

From my point of view, I would agree that everyone is a media activist to a certain level. I know a lot of people from my hometown express their points on certain events that are going on. I on the other hand have my views but I do choose not to post them on social media. I do this because I feel like me doing this is pointless. I feel like people do this just to get attention. Some people don’t really know to some extent what there talking about. I know that expressing your beliefs and values over social media can be a step toward being an activist but I’m more of a instead of talking about why not go out and do something about it, you know take action. I can honestly say that if I’m not interested or truly invested in something, I don’t care what’s going on. Which also leads me to my next point about individuality vs. selfishness. I really don’t know how to answer this. Individuality is about oneself and selfishness is being concerned, sometimes excessively or exclusively, with concern for oneself or one’s own advantage. I would consider myself leaning more toward the individual side. I say this because about a good part of my life I’ve done everything by myself. Ever since I turned 14, I bought my cell phone, got a job and paid at that time my only bill, which was my cell phone bill. From that point on I bought my clothes and whatever I wanted. I made sure I got my learner’s permit at 16 years old and that I had enough money to buy my car. It’s not that my parents didn’t want to help me out; it was more like I didn’t want to ask them for money to do go out and do something. I just like being independent but looking back at it, I feel like you can’t be independent without being somewhat selfish, where you have to be concerned about yourself.

Leave a Reply

