I can’t believe Annie is a robot!

Kidding, Annie is (probably) not a robot, but she is incredibly creepy/strange.

That being said, “The Circle” is one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. As I stated in class, I can’t help but think this facility is very Google/Apple/Facebook/LinkedIn-esque, 2030. To me, the most intriguing part of the novel is the facility. One of my good friends from study abroad recently landed a first-year analyst role at LinkedIn in their Business Development division, and I made him buy this book. I am a bit of a tech nerd, so the technology in the book is pretty cool. The privacy situation rubs off a very subtle 1984, George Orwell feel as well, which I certainly enjoy

From a character stand point, Mae is a bit of a confusing one. She has a lot going on her in her life. She is exuberant over her new job, has an interesting relationship with Annie who is well-respected in The Circle, and has a tough, ongoing family situation at home with her father’s health. I also feel as if Mae is going through an inner-exploration during her canoe rides. Of course she enjoys them, but she goes on them to escape the craziness of The Circle, and to relax. There is a lot going on in this book, and it is certainly going to be interesting to see how it plays out.

One thought on “I can’t believe Annie is a robot!

Leave a Reply

