Final Project–Views on Homosexuality

I first intended this project to consist of friends of mine interviewing others around campus asking questions along the lines of how they would describe a gay or lesbian individual. I wanted others to interview because I wanted honest opinions and did not feel that I would receive that if I myself did the interviewing. I got a lot of feedback that said they saw gay individuals no different than other people. I then texted everyone from my contact book from back home in Minnesota and again I received feedback about the acceptance of LGBT individuals but that was not what I was looking for. I knew I was asking the wrong generation of people, I should have been looking for older or not yet in college because I felt that college makes one more acceptable towards certain issues. I also was asking athletes and females so they have an accepting view from being on teams and knowing many gay individuals over years of play. But then I receive one email, from a girl I was friends with in high school. This email shows how the church is used as a form of media. How the words presented by one to a thousand are worth more than a life any gay or lesbian individual can display. They state all that is wrong with homosexuality and why it is a lie. After receiving this email I did not know whether to be offended or to laugh it off. I knew people felt that way but I had never had anyone I know say it to me. I then had my friend off-set the email by writing a poem about her life and her growing up knowing she is gay.

Leave a Reply

