Trolling Has Become a Way of Life

Trolling has become an internet movement, and personally, I love it. It’s almost like a test of cleverness. Not everyone can be a troll. It’s the ultimate restricted code of the internet, and not everyone can understand it. There is also a sense of humor attached to trolling. if one does not have a sense of humor, many arguments can derive from them, and sometimes feelings get hurt.

For me, I was born into a family of trolls. Trolling is basically online pranking, and I was born into a family of pranksters, and I get all of my trolling abilities from my mother. My brother and I take our cleverness to the digital world. One of my best friends however were not brought up the same way, and every time I “troll” her her feelings get hurt. Sometimes trolling can lose friendships, and I have actually have lost friends in the past from trolling them on instagram.

It’s all related to culture jamming. Culture jamming, as defined by Wikipedia, “is a tactic used by many anti-consumerist social movements to disrupt or subvert media culture and its mainstream.” Culture Jamming is meant to be satirical, although, just like trolling, is viewed negatively by many people.

Even though culture jamming is generally viewed negatively by people, it has the power to bring people together. For example, my cousin met his boyfriend by both of them try to troll each other on tumblr. It’s an interesting story and is all part of the restricted code that not everyone can understand. But at the same time, trolling, memes, and just culture jamming in general has become a part of mainstream media, and even if one cannot accept or understand the jokes or satire, it has become a way of life.

Leave a Reply

