New York Leaves It’s Digital Self at Home and Hits the Streets

It all started as an assignment that needed to be done for one of my sociology classes. It required students to take part it in an act of activism. Yeah activism, you know, the big “A” word. At first I was scared because to be completely honest my perception of activism was based on the stories that I had heard on the news. They were the stories that always had consequences that followed; usually involving the police.

I was not at all prepared for what I was about to be a part of. As a class we were going to take part in People’s Climate March. This march was going to be used to help persuade leaders at the UN take a stand on the issues regarding global warming. Global warming has become an issue that is hard to ignore and one that affects everyone living on the planet. It sounded like a safe and low risk activity.

I started looking up the event and going on twitter to see if anyone else was talking about it. It turned out that there were plenty of people who were and even celebrities were in on it. I was beginning to get more and more excited about it.

When the day finally came, I was ready. I am not a morning person but that day I somehow managed to make it through. I was shocked at the amount of people that were actually taking part in the march. The numbers showed that there were easily over 300,000 people in attendance.

What the numbers didn’t show was the fact that there were people who all came from different walks of life. There were students, farmers, families, and people from all over the world who gathered in NYC for the same cause. They were able to respond to the call for action that was brought to them. They made an effort to make a change by simply attending.

It could have been easy to just retweet something to show that you’re concerned about the planet’s wellbeing but these people did much more. This event gave me hope; it showed me that unity and community building is possible. Even in an age where smartphones and social media have taken over, we can still come together for a common cause.105

Leave a Reply

