Black Mirror: “White Bear”

After Thursday’s class viewing of Black Mirror, I was compelled to continue watching. I have to say that I was definitely uncomfortable watching it and yet I was hooked. I left class wondering about what the pig episode. As foolish as the storyline may have been, the overall message was loud and clear. It was like a car crash that you just can’t help to keep watching. It’s funny actually, how that same analogy applied to the second episode of Black Mirror that I decided to watch.

I watched the episode “White Bear” that dealt with a woman that had forgotten everything. At one point she was being followed by a man with a gun who was trying to shoot her. She tried to get help and no one bothered to listen, instead they opted to use their phones to record her being chased by the mystery man. I was shocked and I couldn’t understand why they would do that. Then I came to the realization that the episode wasn’t all that far from reality.

I then thought about how society has taken a turn for the worst. On the news all I have been seeing are stories of middle school and high school students getting hurt or getting into fights where there are other students gathered around recording every single minute of it on their smart phones. In some cases the students that are in the fights are severely hurt, and yet nothing is done to help them. It is a shame that there are people that find pleasure in watching others suffer.

The end of the “White Bear” episode had a plot twist that completely threw me off, and needless to say I then found myself watching the other episodes after that. I don’t think I would have ever watched this show without having had been told about it. I typically don’t choose shows like Black Mirror but this time I had to make an exception.

Leave a Reply

