It’s a bad of the eras, and even the “modern” era article is ancient sounding. Ten years isn’t a long time, but through the eyes of technology, it’s obsolete. People say you only have one life to live and you only live once, but with technology you can live more than one life. And no, I’m not talking about or condoning catfishes, but for the purposes of this blog, I am referring to collecting. Walters and Dibble are both have strong points, and I find it difficult to agree with one or the other because while they speak about “collecting” things, it’s through two different entities, which has never been done before in history. I love to collect physical objects (maybe not books per say) because i like to have something tangible in my hand to show people. I pray the world does not get too into their phones heavily or technology to forgot about their outside world. That’s why I like having something tangible to hold cherish, and show to people.

Walter’s predicted an apocalypse with the era shifting into this new, technological world. At first, it seems that Dibble shares similar feelings with his record collection. He has been collecting records with his sister since the early 1970s, and with the rise of online MP3s (soon to be MP4s) and digital music, the era of hard copies of music has now ended. For someone who collected records, that is devastating. I’ve felt it too, with my movie collection. I used to have a bunch of video tapes and DVDs, and now it’s all about Netflix.

But Dibble found a new kind of joy with the organization of his music, and with this, it gave him something to do and keep him occupied. I think collecting is just collecting, whether it’s online, or hanging in my bedroom. Its human nature to want to possess something, and many people do this by collecting items, Virtual and not.

Leave a Reply

