Musical Stereotypes

With this weeks blog post we are suppose to talk about a certain medium and really describe how we have a relationship with it, whether it be TV, radio, social media, etc. Music is by far the best media platform for me, yet my relationship with it is very simple. Music is a big part in my life and it has shaped who I am in a certain way and think, I am not a die-hard fan to any certain artist or song or album, I just like music. The sound, the rhythm and the way it makes me feel, I could be in a bad mood and turn on a song and I would feel better. I don’t collect CDs or albums that you can physically hold in your hand and I don’t even buy music, I listen to Soundcloud, Spotify and Pandora to find my music and find the newest tracks released. Music molds how I feel a certain day from the moment I get in my car and start listening. But in regards to the value that music brings me is definitely utilitarian value because I do need music in order to stay at a level of peace with people around me as well as myself. Changing directions here, I also feel like there are many stereotypes for different types of music listeners.

WHAT STUDIES SAY ABOUT YOUR SOUNDS:

POP: Conformists, overly responsible, role-conscious, struggling with sexuality or peer acceptance.

HEAVY METAL: Higher levels of suicidal ideation, depression, drug use, self-harm, shoplifting, vandalism, unprotected sex.

DANCE: Higher levels of drug use regardless of socio-economic background.

JAZZ/RHYTHM & BLUES: Introverted misfits, loners.

RAP: Higher levels of theft, violence, anger, street gang membership, drug use and misogyny.

Reggae: Use of marijuana. (I added this)

http://www.popmatters.com/post/stereotyping-musical-genres/

After seeing these stereotypes do you believe that all these are true statement or are they extreme stereotypes of the people who listen to these genres of music?

 

Joe Bettini

 

4 thoughts on “Musical Stereotypes

  1. I took a quick glance at this blog and the first thing I noticed were the rap and reggae stereotypes… my mouth dropped lol. After reading your blog post and checking out the link I totally feel as if the stereotypes mentioned are false. Stereotypes in general are ideas associated with a group of individuals, these ideas are not always true. There are many faults in stereotypes. I think people derive these stereotypes in music because of their lyrics. Music artists often write from their experiences. Whether the listener can relate to the lyrics closely or not is unknown but I don’t think that we should all be labeled for our taste in music. Other than lyrics someone can just like the rhythm of a track but this doesn’t make them suicidal, gang affiliates, or pot smokers, just simply a music lover.

  2. I love that you added in the study about what your music says about you. I do too use Spotify as a platform to find my new music that I constantly listen to but I will usually go back and download it onto a CD. I like to make them for my car or as a keepsake for friends I have made playlists for them. Music is all opinion based so it’s bound to be stereotyped but I don’t necessarily agree that only people who smoke week listen to reggae. People listen to all types of music and you don’t have to categorize yourself to one type which is what I love about it. We are always being placed into categories or groups but you don’t have too with music.

  3. Wow, I never came across the stereotypes of music and after taking a look at this it is absurd what people think. I listen to rap here and there but you’ll never see me steal a day in my life or ever be in some type of gang.

Leave a Reply

