My Connection To Cable News

If I had to pick a medium of communication that I would say I feel personally close to, it would be cable television. Specifically, I would say that cable television news has become the most influential part of my life. Throughout the past eight years, watching news on media outlets such as CNN and ESPN has played such a major role in the way I think about the world.

Early on in high school, I felt a connection to the news. I simply wanted to be aware of current events. Eventually, as I entered the latter years of high school, news became influential in terms of my political opinions. I recognize that, throughout those years in high school, I would rigorously watch cable news so that I could know about political happenings. There were days when the television was just on in the background, and I would listen to it as I would occupy myself with some other medium of communication, or homework. Flipping through the channels to watch CNN, Fox News, and MSNBC to see what other professionals thought about politics has everything to do with why I chose what kind of career I would like to have.

As I transitioned from high school to college, I recognized that I had somewhat of a talent for writing. Maybe it’s not a talent, but rather that I am more comfortable with humanities than science or mathematics. Considering my knack for writing, and my passion for watching cable television news, I decided that I wanted to be a reporter. Whether that involves writing for a newspaper, or being a correspondent on a local broadcasting network, I just want to be part of the medium that I feel I’ve had a deep connection with ever since ninth grade.

Although the title of this blog post is ‘My Connection To Cable News,’ I would say that cable news has introduced me to other mediums of communication that I would group into one conglomerate. Aside from watching televised news, I’m constantly reading the newspaper, or online forms of it.

Having said all that, I do believe that my connection to cable news will be with me for a long time, and I feel that I have found my calling.

Franco Fino

Leave a Reply

