Youtube- It Changed My Life.

Youtube. Pretty cool place, isn’t it? You get funny cat videos, laughing babies, and homework help for those dreadful math problems. Every preteen can learn how to do the perfect winged eyeliner and all the dudes have an endless supply of videogame hacks.

But where do I fit into all this? My eyeliner isn’t winged, I don’t play videogames and as much as I love laughing babies, where is the passion? That’s easy. December 22nd, 2013 was a day that changed my life forever. It was after dinner, probably seven o’clock and I could still feel the grease from some pork sausage around my mouth. Gross. I’ve had this idea for months now, it kept roaming around my brain as something “I would get around to” and I finally did.

I opened Google Chrome and typed in, “Earthlings free online” and then clicked the Youtube link. It was split into four parts and three minutes into the first one, I was tearing up. For those of you who don’t know, Earthlings is a documentary that is meant for you, a consumer, to hear and witness the horrors hidden inside factory farming and other animal based professions. It is meant for you to question the government, society and what you believe is morally just.

By the end of this brutal 95 minutes, I felt terrible. I was crying, nauseous and all around a hot mess.  I couldn’t take back the seventeen and a half years of eating and wearing animal products, all I could do was change my lifestyle for the future.

This is where YouTube opened up a completely new way of living to me. I typed in how to go vegan, vegan recipes, social aspect of veganism, is veganism right, is veganism healthy, tips for veganism… You get the point.

The following list is of youtubers that dedicate their life to the vegan movement and spreading the message. Freelee the Banana Girl, Durianrider, Gary Yourfsky, Bite Size Vegan, FullyRawKristina, and a bit more that I discovered later on would be; Unnatural Vegan, That Vegan Couple, Happy Healthy Vegan, and Izzy.Davis. There are so many more and they all have one thing in common; these people care about the animals, the planet and themselves.

Through YouTube I have not only discovered every recipe I know how to make, but the fact that there is an entire festival dedicated to veganism! Raw Till Four Fruit Festival was created by Freelee and her boyfriend Harley (Durianrider) which is occurs at the beginning of summer each year, in Thailand.

Youtube made the transition to this lifestyle so much easier. It made the vegan community more accessible to me (considering how I am from Small Farm Town, NY and my family is full of hunters). This is the media aspect that I hold close to my heart because if it wasn’t for this website, I’m not sure if I would be as passionate about animal rights as I am today.

 

P.s here is a link to literally the best speech ever, hence the title. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=es6U00LMmC4

 

-Arinn

One thought on “Youtube- It Changed My Life.

  1. This is fantastic! My post is going to also be about YouTube as well. I have a channel and watch a lot of YouTubers daily. It has changed my life in a different way compared to yours, but I think it’s amazing to see how it’s helped you discover this whole new lifestyle. I recently found myself looking up Vegan vloggers and finding myself more interested in the lifestyle. I’ve mainly been watching a blogger named Kalel Kitten who is vegan and shares vegan recipes as well as tasting vegan products in stores. I feel good knowing I’m not the only person who has been impacted by YouTube.

Leave a Reply

