Why I Make YouTube Videos and Why It Works

 

YouTube is my life. When I say this, I mean it. I don’t even watch T.V. as much anymore. I find myself occupied watching popular daily vloggers, beauty vloggers, fitness vloggers, etc. I’ve become so fond of them that I’ve become inspired to make my own channel. It’s become my way to express my own thoughts, opinions and to be helpful to others. It’s a platform that I see not only to express yourself and to be creative, but to promote your own career.

I will admit that I actually have my own YouTube channel. I was encouraged by my friends to make one after they all wanted to know how I did my makeup. Yes, I became that typical beauty vlogger, but my channel has transformed over the years. I also make videos about college, advice, diy, etc. It’s become a hobby of mine. I’ve invested in a proper video camera, tripod, a lighting kit and everything I would need to make my channel appealing to the viewer. I’ve become so in love with it that I always plan ways to gain a bigger audience, to make content to make everyone happy.

When I realized how I was planning my content, I realized I was trying to please everyone else who was using the platform as well. YouTube is a business. Creators can make money off of videos and all they have to do is pump out content that is high quality and gets views. My highest viewed video is actually a dorm room tour I did a year ago. It has thousands of views and every week it keeps getting higher and higher. The aim of being a successful YouTube creator is to not only make content you like, but what other people want.

As for who I watch, it’s a huge list of not only beauty vloggers, but also comedians and lifestyle vloggers. Superwoman, Carli Bybel, Nicole Guerriero, Josh Leyva, Alex Wassabi, LaurDIY, Meghan Rienks, Samantha Maria, etc. The list can go on forever and I watch all of them for different reasons. The one thing they do have in common is that they all make amazing content and have good audience engagement. I even met Carli Bybel and LaurDIY before and in person they’re just as amazing and down to earth as they appear online.

So overall, YouTube has made me a grow as a person. Sounds crazy, but if you spend your days talking to a camera and interacting with subscribers you’ll see how much you change. You mess up and have to start over again. I catch myself laughing at the stupid mistakes I make when speaking. I just learned to appreciate my little flaws. It has pushed me to think creatively and outside of the box. My creativity has been challenged to the max.

The reason why making videos works for me is because I can do what I like to do which is beauty, fashion and advice, but help other people in the process. It’s crazy to know that someone in Australia or Brazil has watched my video. It’s crazy to see the views and the likes go up each day. Being on YouTube also works with my fashion lifestyle blog and adds a little extra to my portfolio. All and all, I’m a YouTuber and I love it.

Shanice Peters

3 thoughts on “Why I Make YouTube Videos and Why It Works

  1. I really like how you put YouTube on a global level, because I think that often I don’t acknowledge the influence this has globally. It is really amazing how people from all over the world can view your channel. It is also amazing how we can view everyone’s channel from all over the world. I think this is why YouTube will always be successful, it just has a way of bringing us all together despite differences in location and we can relate on common topics that have interest to us. I started watching YouTube sensation Jenna Marbles over three years ago and its amazing that because of how successful she is globally that she makes a living off of just self-expression through videos and posting them on YouTube.

    Awesome!

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post! I find it very interesting that you say that Youtube has made you grow as a person, I never thought about it that way, but I totally see what you’re saying. I love when people express themselves in the way they want, and using creativity in doing so. It is inspiring to read about your success with your videos! It is great that you are doing something that you truly love, keep it up!

  3. This is amazing. I was actually thinking of being a vlogger as well but Idk where to start. If you have any suggestions for me I would love to hear them :).

Leave a Reply

