What Social Media Means To Me

Social media and its various platforms have come to play an important role in my life, not in the superficial – “everything has to look perfect” – kind of way, but the fact that I can communicate with my friends and family all over the world.

I grew up in Sweden and when I was 16, I decided I wanted to do something different with my life. I decided that I wanted to go to school in the United States, so I started applying. I ended up going to a small preparatory school in the state of Maine. Here, I came to build amazing friendships with people all over, not just America, but the entire world.

After graduation all of my friends went in different directions. I went back home to Sweden, and my friends spread out and went off to different colleges in different states. I cannot even begin to explain how incredibly vital social media has been to me so I can keep in touch with all of them.

Social media to me is a tool that can be used in many different aspects. Many people say that the different platforms create a false reality by pressuring and influencing people in negative ways. I do agree with those statements, but for me social media has another meaning. Social media has helped me to stay in touch and be present for the people I care about. I use different media platforms daily because it is important to me to be able to reach out and be involved in my friends and family’s lives. To be able to see what my friends are up to, and to be able to share their happiness virtually does, in fact, mean a lot to me. Scrolling down the feed on Facebook or Instagram and seeing the cool, funny, beautiful, or ridiculous pictures my friends are posting just makes it easier to rejoice with them, rather than making international phone calls to see whats going on in their lives. It’s not only expensive, but also annoying due to the time difference, and just not very convenient…

I can’t picture a life without social media. I use it every day and I have no intentions not to.

-Alex Carlbom

3 thoughts on “What Social Media Means To Me

  1. I think your choice to come over to the United States and continue an education here is something that most people would be to afraid to do- leaving home and friends. But I think it’s been easier for people to travel far away and move due to the ability that social media has to offer. I think it’s awesome that you’re able to use social media platforms to keep in touch with friends and family, I think people get lost in what the tool and purpose is for social media. How you portray yourself online is a definition of who you are, some people abuse the power and tools it gives.

    Amanda Cirocco

  2. I admire your choice to come to the U.S. and continue your education. I know I couldn’t even think of leaving my home and going to a different country to get my education. I’m afraid of that idea, but to see that you’re doing it and that social media has helped you stay in the loop is very inspiring. Social media has perks and disadvantages, but reading this made me realize how helpful it can be especially in your situation.

  3. As said in both of the those comments above, I admire your choice to come to the U.S. as well to continue your education. Its situations like this that social media really does have a good purpose and maybe opens peoples eyes who think social media is such a bad thing, and I mean does have its disadvantages. But I really think the advantages of social media have a heavier weight to them then the disadvantages.

Leave a Reply

