Social Media Across the Globe

Social Media helps me in various ways: getting together with friends, being updated on the latest news/gossips/ videos, and, most importantly, it makes staying in touch and talking to my family across the ocean a whole lot easier.

When I was younger, I didn’t look at social media this way. I used Hyves (a Dutch version of Facebook) to communicate with friends and to talk to each other after school. Also, as some of you might remember, MSN was a big (BIG) thing and extremely ‘cool’ to use.

Over the last few years I’ve been using Facebook a lot more, even more than Instagram. Even though Instagram, in the US, might be even more popular than Facebook nowadays. The reason I use Facebook more is because almost all my family members use it. We have a  family chat, we share photos  and it’s easier to tag someone in a funny video than sending the video separately to everyone in a text.

Beside the fun side of social media, I do understand and notice the dangers of using it. We’ve been told by our field hockey coaches that they’re watching us everywhere: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat…

Crazy to think about posting something and more people than you probably know of are looking and following you.

 

Bregje Smits

 

One thought on “Social Media Across the Globe

  1. Social media provides a lot of positive aspects and it does bring friends/families together when there is distance between them. When I went down south for the summer FT was a application that came in handy for me, so I could keep in touch with my loved ones back home. Also social media can be harmful sometimes. It is a outlet where you have to be careful about what you say and post. If you post something vulgar and inappropriate there are jobs and/ or colleges and jobs that can look that up and consequences may come from those actions.

Leave a Reply

