Power and Knowledge

Michael Foucault, a french philosopher, who addressed the theory of the relationship between power and knowledge, and how they are used as a form of social control through societal institutions.  Foucault was one of the first people to realize that power does not always have to be a negative or repressive thing that makes or forces us to do things that we don’t want to do, but can also be a needed, productive and positive thing in society.  Power comes through different forms of knowledge. For example, art work, poetry, structures, and pictures. As an artist, myself,  I agree with Foucault. For example all forms of art are therapeutic to mind. There is power that comes through. Power to sooth, excite, bring tears and all other types of emotions.Everyone views art differently. As a artist I like to promote my art. So I created a website to share my art and to see if any of my pieces were powerful to anyone.  When I glance at the comments, some people just look and see a job well done. While others look and interpret their own meaning within my art. The people that have a knowledge about what I am drawing or writing about are the people that are going to get more out of it.  A person could look at something that they have no clue about and it has no effect on them but once they see a object that is known to them, the object possesses more power to them than the other. As Foucault said, with knowledge comes power, they are one and the same.

Sarah Kelley

IMG_2827

Leave a Reply

