Tarantino

As we discussed in class about reading “What is an Author” by Michel Foucault, I was very intrigued to read this piece of work. After reading, I first thought of Quentin Tarantino, my favorite film maker. I love of his films and look forward to going to see his films in theaters and that usually thats never is the case with other filmmakers. Ever since I watched Pulp Fiction my whole outlook on movies changed because I have never seen anything like it, I don’t even know how to explain it but I love his style and the way he does things within the films he creates. To be completely honest I got very lost within the writing of Foucault, and probably didn’t understand it as much as I should have, but thats just me. Relating Foucault to Tarantino was difficult but what I can say after reading the 3 parts to an “author function”all I can say is that Tarantino is one of the greatest film makers in the sense of he will always be remembered for his films, because his film are completely different and unique from all other filmmakers out there. The quote below from Foucault I think describes Tarantino, but I could be completely wrong. Most people know Tarantino, in the sense that you either hate him or love him, but he just did not come out of nowhere, he went through a process of creating great film after film to achieve his name as a filmmaker.

“The third point concerning this ‘author-function’ is that it is not formed spontaneously through the simple attribution of a discourse to an individual. It results from a complex operation whose purpose is to construct the rational entity we call an author”

Joe Bettini

One thought on “Tarantino

  1. Hi Joe,

    Funny that you wrote your respons to Foucault’s essay on Tarantino as well. He is such an amazing director, I couldn’t agree more with you. I also like the quote you inserted in your blog post. It completely reflects to Foucault writing and Tarantino. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

