What is Privacy?

In class on Thursday, we discussed the issue of privacy on social media. In my opinion, there is no such thing as privacy on social media. You are willingly signing up to have your life viewed, whether you have your privacy settings on or not- nothing is private. The way people portray themselves on social media says a lot more about than character by what they say in 140 characters or less, or the photo stream on their Instagram. You can literally check in on Facebook where you are, if you are at the mall, a restaurant. Who REALLY cares that your sipping on a glass of wine with your brother at some bar in town? Why do we willingly give out all out our information without even realizing it?  Yet we all do it, willingly.

We  also discussed the ” Down in the DM” song and how social media is affecting our relationships. If people are interested in someone they should be able to confront them and talk in person, rather than behind a screen. Maybe I am old-fashioned because that’s how I think relationships should start but I find that social media destroys relationships. I plan to go into more depth on this subject in my term paper.

Amanda Cirocco

4 thoughts on “What is Privacy?

  1. I completely agree with how there is absolutely no privacy, and even taking it a step further with not just us giving out our personal information willingly, but what about our government can do if they really wanted to. Its really scary to believe that someone can be on the other side of my phone right now and I wouldn’t even know.

  2. This is so true! We don’t ever really have privacy on social media. Also, social media accounts can easily be hacked and people can release or still all your information. It’s crazy to think that in this day and age that our privacy can be invaded so easily. Then again, the more we develop in technology the more we will have issues with privacy.

  3. Yes, I totally agree. No privacy can possibly be found on social media. I can’t even remember how many times I had to change or renew a password for Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. Somehow people always find a way to get to your account and your profile.

  4. it sure is very interesting to see how social media is affecting the world. I am guilty of sharing pictures and checking in, and literally share my life with people I don’t know. It is crazy to think about it that way, but I guess I don’t really realize doing it.

    I love your idea about your research paper!

Leave a Reply

