Digital Millennium Copyright Act is a United States Copyright Act that was signed in October of 1998 under the presidency of Bill Clinton. The DMCA Act was broken down into five “titles”

The act was essentially created to inform the treaties of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). The time this act was signed is significant because it created regulations to deal with the new Digital Age that the U.S. was facing during the late 90s, when the internet and technology were flourishing.

Title I:

Enforces the  World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) which heavily takes into account how technology advancements can challenge the Copyright Act.

Title II:

The Online Copyright Infringement Liability Limitation Act was created to have online service providers implement guidelines to deal with infringement online.

Title III:

The “Computer Maintenance Competition Assurance Act” allows those who are working on computer systems to temporarily copy information.

Title IV:

Includes six miscellaneous provisions inducing language, and “ephemeral recordings” which are an expedition to the Copyright Act used to facilitate transmissions amongst others.

Title V:

The “Vessel Hull Design Protection Act” protects the designs that are created to support content.

Access a PDF of the act here.

– Yanilis Checo




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s