The effect of one tweet

“I lost my job, my reputation and I’m not able to date anymore”.

Justine Sacco a former PR worker ruined her reputation with one post. Before she got on a plane to south Africa she tweeted “Going to Africa. Hope I don’t get AIDS. Just kidding. I’m white!”. Within 11 hours and only having 170 followers her tweet became the No 1 worldwide trend on twitter. It became so popular they used the hashtag #HasJustineLandedYet. As soon as she landed her phone blew up with messages and tweets about the racial remark she made. Her friend even had to delete Justine’s account but what you put out there you can’t take back. Employees of hers commented saying she will no longer keep her job. Justine’s life was ruined with one tweet that she considered a joke although no one else took it that way. Justine Sacco’s story is a prime example as to why you need to be aware of what you put online and be prepared to deal with the consequences it might lead to. What you put on the internet never goes away, even if you delete it yourself.

2 thoughts on “The effect of one tweet

  1. I agree completely. You really need to take caution on what you post. I think the old saying is, Something you find funny today might embarrassed you tomorrow. I guess the lesson is be careful what you say.

  2. “Employees of hers commented saying she will no longer keep her job.”– Can this comment on social media, by her coworkers, also be considered slightly unprofessional? I’ve never heard of someone being fired via the use of social media.

Leave a Reply

