Spotify

Growing up I remember listening to CD’s in the car and using my portable CD player. That was only in the last 10 or 11 years. When I was in middle school I got my first iPod shuffle. That changed the world of music for me. I went from my portable CD player to the world of iTunes and downloaded my music to my iPod shuffle. That was 8 years ago now. Today, I used the world of Spotify. Spotify is a free app which allows users to make different playlists, save songs, or follow artists that you like. I like this app because it’s easy to use, it’s free, and you can download it to all your devices. In the article, Julian Dibbell quotes; Perhaps. But if unpacking my CD collection has drained it of some kinds of intimacy, I can’t help feeling it has also infused it with others. Sitting before my computer, gazing at the lists of songs on my screen, I feel closer to my music than I ever have before. I thought this quote was significant because it’s something I think we can all relate to. Going from one era of of technology and music to another. Before music was on CD’s which we popped into a CD player and played. We could skip songs but when that CD was in we were only limited to what music was on that CD. Now we have access to millions of different kinds of songs and music to our fingertips at all times. We are in control of what we want to listen to and in a sense we feel closer to our music.

One thought on “Spotify

  1. I agree with you, I too use spoitfy and I enjoy the interactive feature, I can follow my friends and see what they’re listening to or what music they currently like.

Leave a Reply

